CPE Competencies

CPE Competencies

ACPE, Inc and The National Association of Catholic Chaplains (NACC) provide statements and objectives for developing CPE programs.

Sisters Hospital offers three types of CPE programs, all of which fulfill ACPE and NACC learning outcomes. They are:

  • Level I CPE
  • Level II CPE
  • Certified Educator CPE

Outcomes define the competencies to be addressed by students as a result of participating in a program of CPE.

Level I CPE

Level I CPE addresses basic competencies and issues of pastoral reflection, pastoral formation, pastoral identity and functioning in one or more units of CPE.

Level II CPE

Level II CPE students addresses the development and integration of pastoral formation, pastoral competence and pastoral reflection to a level of competence that permits them to attain professional certification and/or admission to Certified Educator CPE.

Certified Educator CPE

Certified Education Candidates (CEC’s) address the competencies and issues of the art spiritual care supervision, educating qualified persons in the theory and practice of instructing students in Clinical Pastoral Education.

Call (716) 862-1374 or e-mail (nkoteras@chsbuffalo.org) the CPE office for more information.