Mount St. Mary's Hospital Awards and Recognitions

Areas of recognition:

Quality and Value

The Joint Commission

Joint Commission Accreditation (2012-2021)

Commission accredited or certified organizations have demonstrated that they meet the highest standards in their field. All Catholic Health hospitals have earned accreditation by The Joint Commission.

This is a three-year accreditation.

Back to top.


American Association of Diabetes Educators - Accreditation Accreditation of Diabetes Self-Management Education and Support

American Association of Diabetes Educators - Accreditation of Diabetes Self-Management Education and Support (2017-2021)

The American Association of Diabetes Educators has recognized Catholic Health’s Diabetes Education as meeting the National Standards for Diabetes Self-Management Education and Support.

Back to top.


American College of Radiology (ACR) - Computed Tomography (CT) Scanning Three Year Accreditation (2018-2022)

Mount St. Mary's Hospital was awarded a three-year accreditation for its computed tomography (CT) scanning by the American College of Radiology (ACR). ACR accreditation recognizes that the hospital’s CT scanning service has undergone a rigorous review process and meets nationally accepted standards of care.

American College of Radiology - Mammography Accreditation (2018-2022)

Mount St. Mary's Hospital is accredited by the American College of Radiology for its digital mammography system.

The ACR gold seal of accreditation represents the highest level of image quality and patient safety. It is awarded only to facilities meeting ACR Practice Guidelines and Technical Standards after a peer-review evaluation by board-certified physicians and medical physicists who are experts in the field. Image quality, personnel qualifications, adequacy of facility equipment, quality control procedures, and quality assurance programs are assessed.

Intersocietal Accreditation Commission Nuclear - Nuclear Medicine Certification (2018-2022)

The purpose of the Intersocietal Commission for the Accreditation of Nuclear Medicine Laboratories is "to ensure high quality patient care and to promote health care by providing a mechanism to encourage and recognize the provision of quality nuclear cardiology and nuclear medicine diagnostic evaluations by a process of voluntary accreditation." Through the accreditation process, laboratories assess every aspect of daily operation and its impact on the quality of healthcare provided to patients.

Learn more about imaging services at Catholic Health.

Back to top.


The Joint Commission - Accredited Laboratory (2017)

Back to top.

Primary Care

Patient-Centered Medical Home

Patient-Centered Medical Home (2018-2021)

The Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) is a model of care that puts patients at the forefront of care. PCMHs build better relationships between patients and their clinical care teams. Research shows that PCMHs improve quality, the patient experience and staff satisfaction, while reducing health care costs. Practices that earn recognition show that they have made a commitment to providing quality improvement within their practice and a patient-centered approach to care.


American Association of Cardiovascular & Pulmonary Rehabilitation

American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation - Certification (2014)

AACVPR certification demonstrates that our program is aligned with current guidelines as approved by the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation for the appropriate and effective early outpatient care of patients with cardiac or pulmonary issues.

Back to top.


Designated Stroke Center

New York State Department of Health - Designated Stroke Center (Re-designated in 2015)

Stroke Center Designation assures patients that we meet the state’s stringent guidelines for stroke care. This includes being seen by a physician within 15 minutes of arrival in the ER; receiving a CT scan within 25 minutes; interpretation of CT results in 45 minutes; lab results in 45 minutes; and clot busting drugs within 60 minutes of arrival or 3-4.5 hours of symptom onset and catheter-based techniques that enable treatment up to 24 hours from symptom onset. 

Joint Commission Certificate of Distinction

Joint Commission Certificate of Distinction® - Primary Stroke Center

Offered in collaboration with the Joint Commission and the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association, the Primary Stroke Center (PSC) Certification designates Mount St. Mary’s Hospital’s exceptional efforts to foster better outcomes for our stroke patients. It recognizes that the quality of care we provide meets the unique and specialized needs of those who experienced a stroke.

AHA 2023 Guidelines

Get With The Guidelines® - Stroke Gold Plus (2023)

This award recognizes Mount St. Mary's Hospital's commitment and success ensuring that stroke patients receive the most appropriate treatment, according to nationally recognized, research-based guidelines based on the latest scientific evidence. To receive this award, hospitals must achieve 85% or higher adherence to all Get With The Guidelines-Stroke achievement indicators for two or more consecutive, 12-month periods.

Learn more about stroke services.

Back to top.

Wound Care

The Joint Commission - Accredited Wound Care Center (Re-accredited in 2018)

Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society - Accredited Wound Care Center (2018)

Back to top.