About Us

The Mercy Hospital Foundation was formed in 1978 to solicit, receive and administer philanthropic support for the benefit of Mercy Hospital. If you believe, as we believe, that your healthcare provider should be inspired by faith and committed to excellence, then join us in our mission.


To raise funds and steward existing resources, to support the patient care, projects and programs of Mercy Hospital of Buffalo.

Our Purpose

To raise new funds and steward existing resources which support, improve, and promote the care and service provided by Mercy Hospital of Buffalo.

Board of Directors

Richard A. Serra, Chair, Premium Parking
Sharon Prise Azurin, Vice Chair, Phillips Lytle, LLP
James Tilley, Treasurer, Community Volunteer
Laura Bickert, Secretary, Bank of America, Merrill Lynch

Daniel Joyce, Former Chair, Fiegel, Carr & Joyce
Martin Boryszak, Senior Vice President, Acute Care & President of Mercy Hospital of Buffalo
Martin Griffith, CNB Bank
Vincent O. Hanley, Bond, Schoeneck & King, PLLC
Rurik C. Johnson, MD, Surgical Associates of WNY
Joyce Markiewicz, President & CEO, Catholic Health
John Shaflucas, Shaflucas Architects
Jeffrey P. Steinig, MD, Mercy Hospital of Buffalo
Mary Szabat, Key Bank
Bryan Wittman, Dry Creek Group
Rosemary Olchawski, Community Volunteer
James Gottstine, Ciminelli Real Estate Corporation
Daniel Ramsey, D’Youville University
Kenneth Eckhert, III, MD, Mercy Hospital of Buffalo
Richard Greenawalt, Auto Collision and Glass
John Russo, Jr., Hamburg Brewing Company
Deanna Messinger, Executive Director, Mercy Hospital Foundation



Deanna Messinger
Executive Director
Mercy Hospital Foundation
Office: (716) 828-2120