Levels of Training

Home » Education & Training » Clinical Pastoral Education » Levels of Training

The Association for Clinical Pastoral Education Inc. (ACPE) and The National Association of Catholic Chaplains (NACC) provide standards and objectives for developing CPE programs.

Sisters Hospital offers three types of CPE programs, all of which fulfill ACPE/NACC learning outcomes. They are:

  • Level I CPE
  • Level II CPE
  • Supervisory CPE

Outcomes define the competencies to be addressed by students as a result of participating in a program of CPE.

Level I

Level I CPE addresses basic competencies and issues of pastoral reflection, pastoral formation, pastoral identity and functioning in one or more units of CPE.

Level II

Level II CPE students will have focused on the development and integration of pastoral formation, pastoral competence and pastoral reflection to a level of competence that permits them to attain professional certification and/or admission to Supervisory CPE.

Supervisor CPE

Supervisory CPE addresses the competencies and issues of the art of supervision, educating qualified persons in the theory and practice of supervision of students in Clinical Pastoral Education.

Click here see how the learning objectives/outcomes are addressed in each level of study.