Catholic Health Hospitals Named Five-Star Hospitals

Home » About Us » News » 2013 News » Catholic Health Hospitals Named Five-Star Hospitals

June 21, 2013

Community Value Five StarCommunity Value 100

All three Catholic Health hospitals – Sisters of Charity Hospital, Kenmore Mercy Hospital and Mercy Hospital of Buffalo – have been named “Five-Star Hospitals” in Cleverley + Associates’ 2013 Community Value Leadership Awards.

This is the fifth consecutive year in which every Catholic Health hospital has earned this recognition.

In addition to the five-star honors, Sisters of Charity Hospital placed in the top 20% of Five-Star hospitals, earning Cleverley’s Community Value 100 designation for the eighth consecutive year.

A leading healthcare financial consulting firm specializing in operational benchmarking and performance enhancement strategies, Cleverley + Associates evaluates more than 2,700 health care facilities in four key areas:

  • financial viability,
  • costs,
  • charges, and
  • quality performance.

The Five-Star rating places Catholic Health’s hospitals in the top 20 percent of these facilities.    

The Cleverley Value Index (CVI) was created to provide a measure of the value that a hospital provides to its community.

Cleverley’s analysis suggests that a hospital provides value to the community when it is financially viable, is appropriately reinvesting back into the facility, maintains a low cost structure, has reasonable charges, and provides high quality care to patients.

About Cleverly Value Index (CVI) and the Five Star Ratings

Five-star ratings are awarded based on the attainment of a top 20 percent ranking among the hospitals examined in the study. 

Measurement in specific areas suggest that hospitals operating with a high degree of community value are those that are low cost, low charge, and use a strong financial position to reinvest back into the provision of care at the facility. Each area contains metrics that compare a hospital’s performance to an appropriate peer group.  The combined performance in each area is the Community Value Index® score. 

Those hospitals with scores in the top twenty percent are designated as “Five-Star” facilities.